Ann Groves

REPORT OF LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MEETING HELD ON 17 MAY 2004

 Councillor Bluston Chair:

Councillors: Mrs Bath

Knowles Blann Vina Mithani Branch Janet Cowan John Nickolay Dharmarajah O'Dell

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

1. **Appointment of Chair:**

RESOLVED: To note the appointment under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 1.1. (xii) at the Annual Council meeting, held on 13 May 2004, of Councillor Bluston as Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2004-05.

2. **Attendance by Reserve Members:**

RESOLVED: To note that there were no Reserve Members in attendance for this meeting.

3.

Appointment of Vice-Chair:
Councillors Ann Groves and Knowles respectively were nominated to the office of Vice-Chair. Upon a vote, it was

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Ann Groves as Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2004-05.

4. **Declarations of Interest:**

RESOLVED: To note that no declarations of interest were made in relation to the business on the agenda.

5. **Arrangement of Agenda:**

RESOLVED: That all items on the agenda be considered with the press and public present.

6. Minutes:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the predecessor Committee's meeting (General Purposes and Licensing) held on 29 September 2003, be deferred until the next ordinary meeting of this Committee.

7. **Establishment of Panels 2004-05:**

Further to the nominations now submitted by the political Groups in respect of this Committee's Panels and the appointment as Chair of the Licensing Panel having been determined on the casting vote of the Chair, consequent on those appointments having been considered, it was

RESOLVED: That the Licensing and General Purposes Panels be established for the Municipal Year 2004-05 with the membership and Chairs as detailed in the appendix to these Minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 7.00 pm, closed at 7.05 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR HOWARD BLUSTON Chair

^{*} Denotes Member present

APPENDIX 1

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

<u>Labour</u> <u>Conservative</u> <u>Liberal</u> <u>Democrats</u>

(1) CHIEF OFFICER APPOINTMENTS PANEL (5)

the Group Group

(Councillor N. Shah or nominee). (Councillor D Ashton or nominee).

(2) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3)

Janet Cowan

(2)

Ray

Toms* (CH)

Members

II. 1. Ann Groves 1. Mrs Bath
Reserve 2. Thammaiah 2. Jean Lammiman
Members 3. Anne Whitehead 3. Vina Mithani

(3) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Voluntarily non-proportional)

(1) (1)

<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	O' Dell (CH)	Knowles	Branch
II.	1. Bluston	1. Arnold	1. Thornton
Reserve	Burchell	John Nickolay	Miss Lyne
<u>Members</u>	3. Gate	Mrs Joyce Nickolay	·

(4) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL **PANEL**

(3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Blann Harriss Branch Burchell Mary John Miss Lyne Myra Michael Currie Ann Groves John Nickolay Mrs Joyce Nickolay Ismail

Versallion

Lavingia Toms

<u>Members</u>

Anne Whitehead

(5) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2) (2)

Members Bluston* (CH) D Ashton * Idaikkadar Romain 1. Dighé 1. Pinkus 2. Myra Michael Reserve 2. Burchell

3. Ingram

3. Harriss

(6) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray]

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Blann Arnold Bluston Mrs Bath Margaret Davine Jean Lammiman * Harrison Mitzi Green Ann Groves Lavingia Ray

Branch Miss Lyne

(7) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

((1))(2) ((1))

Blann Myra Michael **Branch** Mitzi Green Vina Mithani Miss Lyne Silver Omar

Mrs R Shah Toms

N. Shah Stephenson Toms

= Chair (CH) (VC)

Denotes Group Members for consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters.